The European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA) was founded in 1977, by the now legendary Kenneth Hudson and Richard Hoggart, under the auspices of the Council of Europe, with the aim of recognising excellence in the European museum sector, and of encouraging innovative processes in a museum world, which still took the more traditional view of focusing on collections rather than on their use for the benefit of society.

EMYA has had a significant influence on the lives of many museum professionals and has brought to centre stage museums with highly innovative approaches, which came to have a significant influence in the national and international museum field. Within the EMYA scheme all museums are equal, whether public or private, small or large. And whatever their subject or their nationality, they are assessed on the basis of their outstanding public quality and innovative practices.

Since 1977, the European Museum Forum, as the longest running and most prestigious museum award scheme, has presented the European Museum of the Year Award and a series of related awards, and functioned as a continuous benchmark for best practices for the sector. Innovation, public quality and accessibility are the absolute criteria for the EMYA award and constitute the shared denominators for all the awards in the scheme.

To see the nominees press here.